Don’t Yuck My Yum

The eclipse was this week – on Monday. I woke up as a skeptic. I didn’t have the glasses and I was like, “Whatever, don’t really care that much.” Then it started happening and a colleague of mine had a pair of glasses and we looked out the window and up towards the sky and saw it. And you know what? It was actually pretty cool and I was glad I got out of my own way and saw it. Was it a little anticlimactic once it was over in New York? Sure. But I was still glad I saw it.

My good vibes were then rained on when I asked a friend on Gchat if he’d seen it. He replied “no, but Trump did,” and sent me a link to an article about Trump being dumb and looking without the glasses. At that moment, I probably interpreted it as him comparing me to Trump, but in retrospect, I don’t think he was. I think he was just being himself – refusing to do whatever else is doing, even if it is cool, because it makes him feel good to be above things that a lot of people find cool. Or his office has no windows and his colleagues had no glasses. I don’t know. I didn’t ask because I was pissed at him for shitting on my parade. But truth be told, I let him.

Later on another friend posted on Facebook, a sarcastic, also debbie downer, comment about the eclipse. Jesus fucking christ, people. If you don’t want to look, don’t look. No need to be a complete twat about it when other people are enjoying it. Upon reflection, she, too, was probably just looking to make a joke and get lots of likes. No harm. I guess?

But it’s a weird week and people are feeling weird. I’m going to blame it on the eclipse, Mercury being in retrograde (that fucker), and the fact that the end of summer can be a downer sometimes (I guess, though I wouldn’t know as I’m one of those people who can NOT wait for fall). My yoga class on Monday was incredibly grounding and restorative. Exactly what we all needed.

But my reaction to my friends’ negative eclipse commentaries made me think about how I make jokes that could be interpreted as negative about things that people often enjoy. I don’t want to be that person. And maybe I should re-think some of my friendships as well. Because shouldn’t you be friends with people who make you feel good?

Happy eclipse week!

The above photo is from Monday night. It’s a partial eclipse of Gus. 

Leave a Reply

