Battle of the Sexes & Harassment.

Today I went to see “Battle of the Sexes” and it was great. I love Emma Stone so much.

Unfortunately, although I’d bought a ticket for a seat with no one around it in a theatre that was 2/3’s empty, as the lights dimmed, a disheveled looking male slid into the row and sat next to me. I thought it was weird but whatever, I stayed in my seat. I could see out of the corner of my eye that he kept looking over at me, leaned over to the armrest accompanying my seat once or twice, said something under his breath, and even rubbed his foot up against my leg at one point. I was hugging the opposite side of my seat. Hoping he’d move, or take the hint, or leave? 

I wasn’t sure if all this was in my head or done purposely, so I decided not to take any chances and I got up and started to exit the theatre as soon as the screen went dark so I could be first out the door when the postshow text of ‘where are they now’ finished. I was walking to the back of the theatre and about 10 seconds after I got up, I sensed someone walking behind me. I turned around and it was this person. I stood at the back of the theatre and glared at him until he exited.

I was looking over my shoulder and all around as I left the theatre 5 minutes later. I’m pretty sure I saw him looking at me as he rode away on his bike when I exited, going the opposite way luckily. So, ladies – anyone – anytime you feel uncomfortable next to some dude at the movies, it’s always better to possibly offend a random stranger you’ll never see again by moving instead of subjecting yourself to that. This was especially ironic given that I was at a movie called “Battle of the Sexes.”

Male population: please stop saying you’re not entitled. Not all of you are entitled, perhaps, but you need to stand up and be a feminist when this shit happens.

Leave a Reply

